Skip to content
August 17, 2012 / Karen R Adams

observations from a day at the lake

Mondays are granny days for me and my grandkids.  My daughter has one less day to worry about summer child care, I get to hang out with these really, really cool short people in my life.  (Not so short anymore, boy.  My 6 year old grandson who is now up to my shoulder, tells me I’m shrinking, and boy do I feel it when I’m with them!)

We went to a local lake for the afternoon, and for the first time since I’ve been hearing about the ‘obesity epidemic’ I noticed that most of the people there were really overweight.  Nothing like a bathing suit to let you really see how much fat there is in the world.

It started me thinking about the role of the Spleen, according to CM.  I’ve mentioned in other posts that one of Spleen’s jobs is to tell us when we’ve had enough.  Many of us have over-ridden that reminder so often that the Spleen is completely overwhelmed whenever we eat.  If the Spleen’s shutoff valve is ignored long enough, it not only loses it’s ability to stop us from overeating, it also begins to lose it’s ability to transform food into useful bits for us, or transport those bits appropriately.  We gain weight, a sure sign of imbalance.

I began to wonder as I watched the lake people: the Spleen transforms and transports not just the carrot, but also ideas and experiences, helping us integrate these things into the bodymindspirit.  Whoa.

Over the last 30 years the sheer amount of news, information, experiences, exposure to the experience’s of others has become so immense, it’s numbing.  The ability to say ‘I’ve had enough news of any sort, I’m turning away from that’ is buried.  The Spleen can’t say ‘I’ve had enough’ to data, either.

I wonder what happens to the body that is overwhelmed by information.  Wouldn’t it get fat?  The information isn’t fully processed so it lingers in the body as Damp and Heat?  Is that a player in why we find it so hard to lose weight?  A deficient Spleen really makes it hard to move.  If our Spleen is so overwhelmed it becomes deficient, we aren’t going to find it at all easy to exercise.

Wow.  A whole new urgency to the idea of getting unplugged…

Leave a Reply

Andrew Miles, DOM & Xuelan Qiu, PhD

The Rennaisance of Chinese Medicine

Life After War

Healing, Hope & Guidance for the Warrior's Spirit

Jennie kristel's Blog

This blog is about my work and my art. I work as an artist and expressive arts therapist. For over 10 years I have worked in South East Asia, helping social activists counselors and artists develop ways in which to engage with those who experience and encounter issues of poverty and related social issues, using the expressive arts and therapy and Playback Theatre.

Lucy Fagella Pottery

making, teaching, using... ceramics in daily life

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Soundbite Shaman

karen adams acupuncture

Good Vibe Blog

Law of Attraction Tips with Good Vibe Coach, Jeannette Maw

Heart of Business

karen adams acupuncture

AcuTake

discover how acupuncture works

