Skip to content
July 21, 2012 / Karen R Adams

Choice

I am continuously baffled by conversations that go like this:

‘You’re an acupuncturist?’

‘Yes, I am.’

“I always wanted to try that.  I’ve got this [insert issue here] problem.  The doctor hasn’t been able to do anything about it, and I don’t like pain medication, it messes with my head.’

‘I’m sorry to hear that.  We see things like that all the time in the clinic, and acupuncture has been really helpful, often resolving [issue again] after treatment.’

‘Really?’

‘Really.’

‘Wow, I’ll have to come in.’

And then I never see that person.

Or I bump into them some time down the road, and they say ‘I’ve been meaning to come in for some treatment, I could really use it.’  Same outcome.

If you’re one of these people who think they don’t have the money or the time to use for yourself, to feel better, to optimize your life, let me help you out.

You are not a machine.  Your natural genetic design does not do well with 2 hour commutes, 8 – 10 hour work days, 5 – 6 days a week,  gulping down whatever food is easiest, even if it’s only food-flavored products.   You are not designed to live in a continuous state of stress.  This is, by any measurement east or west, a fact.

Why do you accept that this is the way life is?

It is not selfish for you to carve out the time in your busy life to deal with that back pain before it becomes debilitating.  You are not selfish to budget some money to relieve that stress so you can stop snarling at your children/dog/partner/co-worker.  You are not selfish to invest in discovering the best way to eat so that you stay active and functioning until you’re ready to lay your body down.

You have a choice.  Stop pretending you don’t.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathryn / Aug 10 2012 9:02 pm

    I’ve been doing acupuncture for 8 weeks now and love it! Trying to help me with my ovulation (I don’t ovulate). I’ve been doing a “group” acupuncture setting, which is a sliding scale fee. Since my spouse is unemployed I can’t afford $80 a week, but I can afford $20. I am so glad acupuncture is becoming more accessible to people, it along with herbal medicines can really help! After 5 weeks of acupuncture, I had a 29 day cycle!! (after 2 years of 45 day cycles). I think it’s really quite amazing!

    • Karen R Adams / Aug 11 2012 12:56 pm

      that’s fabulous, Kathryn! my nephew and his wife, after trying all the modern methods for 7 years, got pregnant 3 months after she started attending a CA clinic in California. Bouncing baby girl born last October…

Leave a Reply

Andrew Miles, DOM & Xuelan Qiu, PhD

The Rennaisance of Chinese Medicine

Life After War

Healing, Hope & Guidance for the Warrior's Spirit

Jennie kristel's Blog

This blog is about my work and my art. I work as an artist and expressive arts therapist. For over 10 years I have worked in South East Asia, helping social activists counselors and artists develop ways in which to engage with those who experience and encounter issues of poverty and related social issues, using the expressive arts and therapy and Playback Theatre.

Lucy Fagella Pottery

making, teaching, using... ceramics in daily life

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Soundbite Shaman

karen adams acupuncture

Good Vibe Blog

Law of Attraction Tips with Good Vibe Coach, Jeannette Maw

Heart of Business

karen adams acupuncture

AcuTake

discover how acupuncture works

