Skip to content
December 6, 2012 / Karen R Adams

the dao of captain jack sparrow

The problem is not the problem.  The problem is your attitude about the problem.  Do you understand? ~ Captain Jack Sparrow

I love Jack Sparrow – his posturing and swaggering and his nutty logic.  This picture is currently making the rounds of Facebook, and I find the sentiment divinely profound.

I mean, at it’s base, a problem is a problem because we deem it so.  And then, once we’ve done that, we worry it, chew on it, find all the reasons it’s a problem, enlist our friends to agree that, yes, we have a problem, let it disturb our sleep, and on and on until it plays serious havoc with our lives.

We’ve developed an attitude, er, problem.

Let’s play the re-framing game.

Some of the synonyms for ‘attitude’ are: bias, frame of mind, mindset, philosophy, position.  Hmmm.   Okay, hold that thought.

Some of the synonyms for ‘problem’ are: difficulty, botheration, can of worms, challenge, complication, mess, quandary.  Hmmm again.

I have a bias, an attitude, a position about problems: they’re bad news, they get in the way of my life, they take time and energy and (heaven forbid) money that I’d rather use for other things.  A problem is bad news.

A botheration, on the other hand, why that’s no big deal.   I mean, a botheration doesn’t last very long, can be soothed and smoothed, might even have an amusing aspect to it.  So a problem that’s a botheration?  I can deal with that.

If I re-frame a problem by using a word that doesn’t activate my bias, I’ve simply found myself in the middle of a challenge or a mess that needs to be cleaned up.  I actually have more experience doing that than I do being stymied by a problem, don’t you?

Mindfulness in all things, that’s my goal.  And practice practice practice before I hit a problem that threatens to activate my bias, so I can shift my attitude to one that deflates a problem to a botheration.

Do you understand?

Leave a Reply

Andrew Miles, DOM & Xuelan Qiu, PhD

The Rennaisance of Chinese Medicine

Life After War

Healing, Hope & Guidance for the Warrior's Spirit

Jennie kristel's Blog

This blog is about my work and my art. I work as an artist and expressive arts therapist. For over 10 years I have worked in South East Asia, helping social activists counselors and artists develop ways in which to engage with those who experience and encounter issues of poverty and related social issues, using the expressive arts and therapy and Playback Theatre.

Lucy Fagella Pottery

making, teaching, using... ceramics in daily life

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Soundbite Shaman

karen adams acupuncture

Good Vibe Blog

Law of Attraction Tips with Good Vibe Coach, Jeannette Maw

Heart of Business

karen adams acupuncture

AcuTake

discover how acupuncture works

