Skip to content
August 9, 2012 / Karen R Adams

Why ‘For the Joy of It’?

I mean, this is a blog written by an acupuncturist, and the first post (and probably subsequent ones) was exhorting you to eat better.  So why did I pick this name for my blog?

I’ve been an acupuncturist for 10 years now, and I’ve been receiving acupuncture for almost 20 years.  Not because I’m a physical mess, but for the joy of it.  I’ve learned so much about myself and others, about how to navigate the world with eagerness – a very different state of being for me than when I first had treatment.

Then, my life was a train wreck.  I went through an entire decade where every time I thought I saw the light at the end of the tunnel, it was another train.  My train kept crashing into the train of life (sorry if the metaphor makes you cringe, but it truly fits what was happening).  Let me tell you, life is so much bigger than me that the results weren’t pretty.  It was a misery – and I had two small children, I had responsibilities.  I had two cats and a dog, for heaven’s sake.  I was desperate to keep things together.

When I look back on that time, it seems like my life was one, long, slogging misery.  Monochromatic.  I even dreamed in dreary greys.

Acupuncture kept me on the planet.  Not by itself; I’m a strong woman and I can keep walking when I have to.  But, boy, I needed all the help I could get to survive and move out of those 10 years so I could even start to maybe think about thriving.

As time went on, I found that acupuncture wasn’t just helping me stay sane and functional.  It wasn’t just helping me get over the flu or keep a job.  It was helping me transform myself on a very, very deep level.

Now I’m finding that the effects on my spirit, the alchemical or transformative properties of acupuncture, have opened up whole new worlds for me to explore.  Now I’m not only finding joy, I am joy.  The me now is so different from the me then that I don’t think I’m the same person at all.  My life is full of adventures and color and challenges (I do love a challenge).  Now I live not to endure, but for the joy of it.

It’s a joy to meet and work with people who, whether they know it or not, are looking for the same thing.  I learn several somethings new almost every time I work with a patient.  Then I pass on what I’ve learned to others.

Just about everything I do is a joy, if I stay out of my own way and allow it to be.  Not everything, of course; all-the-time-anything, whether that’s joy or anger or dancing or whatever is a pretty exhausting flat-line.  Contrast is good, I chant to myself when the difficult things come.  But I’m consciously seeking to improve how I feel much more than I ever did.  Perhaps someday I will attain perfect joy, and then I’ll become enlightened, and all that will be left of me will be empty shoes.  I kinda hope that’s a while coming, because I’m really enjoying where I am.

Holding you all in the Light.

Leave a Reply

Andrew Miles, DOM & Xuelan Qiu, PhD

The Renaissance of Chinese Medicine

Life After War

Healing, Hope & Guidance for the Warrior's Spirit

Jennie kristel's Blog

This blog is about my work and my art. I work as an artist and expressive arts therapist. For over 10 years I have worked in South East Asia, helping social activists counselors and artists develop ways in which to engage with those who experience and encounter issues of poverty and related social issues, using the expressive arts and therapy and Playback Theatre.

Lucy Fagella Pottery

making, teaching, using... ceramics in daily life

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Isabel Parlett

karen adams acupuncture

Good Vibe Blog

Law of Attraction Tips with Good Vibe Coach, Jeannette Maw

Heart of Business

karen adams acupuncture

AcuTake

discover how acupuncture works

